i'm allie. this is my blog.

Another Week Down

Leave a comment

And another week on summer project has concluded. It’s blowing my mind how fast this summer is flying by. Three more weeks until I’m back in the big CL; which I’m totally stoked about, by the way. However, at the same time, I can’t believe we’re almost done here.

The project has totally changed dynamic now that the staff is gone. People are definitely getting more real and vulnerable with one another, which is awesome! But I don’t want it to sound like it’s all been fun and games. We have definitely had some struggles and tough conversations, but we need to remember why were all here this summer, which is to share the Gospel, to grow in our faith, and build community with one another.

The community team is on a roll so far. We had our first event this past Wednesday, which was project-wide whiffle ball game. We also provided massive amounts of junk food. The game was a total success and our food choices went over better than expected, PTL! Although, there were a couple people who preferred healthier food… don’t care! :p

We also have Mackinac Isalnd planned as well as a few other events I can’t talk about on here just yet. Gotta keep our project friends guessin’, ya know?

Last night, I went to the women’s shelter with Ellen to read to some of the children there. As it turns out, we only had to read to one kid, but even that was a handful. I’m not quite sure if we even had a purpose going over there. I was a little bummed that I had to miss the $5 Cherry Fest outreach, but it’s all good. The outreach team used their budget to give each pair 5 bucks so that they could bless someone they talked to. They could use those $5 to buy someone a cup of coffee, a slice of pizza, or even a prize from the carnival. A really awesome outreach idea in my opinion.

This week was also great in the fact that I was able to catch up with my best friend, Megan. We are both incredibly busy this summer; me with project and she with her job/internship at home, so it was just so awesome to be able to talk on the phone for a while. I am so grateful for that!

A few photos from last week:

Chi-Town love at Moomers! (Me, Nikki, and Jordan)

Mid-Project Banquet! (Megan/Moosh, Roxanne, and myself)

Action Group! (B: Connie, Abbey, Taryn. T: Ellen, Kelsey, Megan (staff), Me, and Amy (staff)

And now, a few of my favorite pictures from this week:

Community Team bonding at Meijer (Krista and Phil)

Switch! (Phil and Krista)

Each night we eat dinner, we have to check our names off. Well, the staff are no longer here, but they’re still on the list. So Austin decided to have a little fun with the attendance sheet.

I guess that’s all for now. Hope all my friends and family back home are having a great summer, and I can’t wait to see all of you soon! :)

Prayer Requests:
-Continuing to raise to support. You can give HERE.
-Unity/Community within the project. Being real and vulnerable with each other. Trusting each other.
-Wisdom for our directors and leaders. The ability to handle tough situations.
-Courage and boldness as we continue to share the love of Christ in Traverse City and with our co-workers.
- Taking what we’ve learned this summer and bringing it back to campus with us.

Author: alpal27

Student at Columbia College Chicago. Cubs fan. Christ follower.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.